Posted by: jimmydlg | October 9, 2008

What is Web 2.0?

One of the most profound notions I discovered when researching “Web 2.0” was that it wasn’t an evolution in graphics or design as I thought, or even an evolution in the capabilities of software platforms and standards. The idea more accurately refer how software developers and end-users consume information from the web in a collaborative, interactive and interconnected environment.

I typically spend time injesting knownledge specific to either my working or personal environment. As I haven’t been in critical need of understanding full what “Web 2.0” was describing, I always had a vague idealization of the term in the back of my mind. Honestly, I think the reason I never grasped the concept more fully was because as it turns out, the concept of “Web 2.0” is more abstract than literal.

In addition to being abstract concept (or maybe because it is an abstract concept) “Web 2.0”, (which I’ll stop quoting) is comprised of several key concepts, a conglomoration of ideas. It is itself its own definition in a way.

Web 2.0 was first described in Tim O’Reilly’s essay as a product of a brainstorming session between O’Reilly and MediaLive International; a collaboration itself that mimicks the openess and desire to share and exchange information that Web 2.0 seeks to employ.

This is, of course, completely contrary to how even I myself operate now. Knowledge to me has always been precious, and valuable. It’s a commodity that I can package, market and sell through a portfolio, resume, and client base. And this is exactly what Web 2.0 seeks to open, not just for me, but for many other individuals, companies, and communities.

Porfitable Web 1.0 Sites in the past followed the same line of thinking I myself have: The user sees what they need to see to purchase a product, and moves on. By encouraging the process of collaboration, self maintaining content, open protocols for integration, and the design aspects that help accomplish these processes, such as AJAX for a fast and more immediate user experience, or streamlined graphic elements to eliminate clutter, not only can business earn loyalty, but they can inspire and benefit from ideas based on an entire community.

Since Web 2.0 Sites are generally maintained from a wide and diverse set of sources, content is both varied and ever changing. This gives existing users a reason to visit the site to participate, and allows new users a path to arriving at the site. It also fosters customer feedback and product improvement discussion, further cementing the business/customer relationship in addition to providing many other benefits.

So why aren’t all companies rushing to pursue Web 2.0 design philosophies? Well, for starters, there has been a decent amount of criticism over the concepts of Web 2.0, intentions and origins, attempting to dismiss them as fads, marketing ploys, or investment capital generating buzz words. Some see Web 2.0 as an attempt to ignite a new “dot-com” boom, and are fearful of repeating past mistakes or skeptical of a return on investments. It’s hard to argue however with the pattern of success that has long since emerged from Web 2.0 startups and even though corporate America is well known for being less nimble in the face of change than smaller companies, they are also known for agressivley pursuing profit.

Web 2.0 is not a new concept. It’s new to me personally, but it’s certainly been around for some time. It’s exciting to see the concept’s evolution from the outside, and because it’s core tenants include cooperation, open apis and even community spirit, I’m sure it’ll be even more exciting from the inside.

Responses

  1. Hi, jimmy!
    Your looks very good. I am very much please to know about Web 2.0. I thought it was just another operating system. I understand more and more by reading different article from others.

  2. I thought the exact same. I thought web 2.0 was a new way of making websites more light weight and easier to use, but obviously it’s not, haha.

    User experience on a website is extremely important. I’ve heard that if a website takes longer than about 5 to 7 seconds to load most people would just click off and go to the next site, so I can definately agree with that. I also agree that when sites have something new often, it does give the user/visitor something to look forward to and therefore they will continue to visit the site.

    I honestly don’t see why so many people think web 2.0 is just a hype, it’s definately obvious and is happening right now and it will only grow!

    I really love your article, it’s so informative and well written. 🙂

  3. Wow Jimmy, you certainly did your research. After watching the video in class about Web 2.0, it pretty much explained it all to me and then as I looked back when I used to play on the internet during the mid-90s, before the dot-com bubble, I realized how BIG the change was. Everything just went to making the users happy and caring about their needs rather than who has the best design or ideas on their sites.

  4. All point are very valid everyone has there own idea when it comes to Web 2.0 personal i dont think that i will ever touch that site seems to werid & way to much out there to sort out. I think just like all good things after a while Web 2.0 might take a noise dive or get to the point where this could be censored. Yet like i said thats what i think everyone is different so i made my peace on it.

  5. “One of the most profound notions I discovered when researching “Web 2.0” was that it wasn’t an evolution in graphics or design as I thought, or even an evolution in the capabilities of software platforms and standards. The idea more accurately refer how software developers and end-users consume information from the web in a collaborative, interactive and interconnected environment.”
    I was surprised when i read this but now that i think about it it makes sense. I to thought it was just an “upgrade” if you will to make websites smaller and easier to navigagte

  6. Jimmy,

    You definitey nail the feeling I could not describe about Web 2.0 “abstract”. It is more about websites for thoughts and feelings rather than facts. I did find it helpful when Amazon.com allowed readers to make comments about the books they read. But more serious worldly issue I wouldn’t trust a personal comment.

    Mary Ann


Leave a Reply

Categories

