Posted by: jimmydlg | February 17, 2009

CSS Positioned Elements

Well I’m not sure what exactly to write on this week, because I’m familiar with the use of positioned elements, although I haven’t often used them in my work. I primarily stuck to table layouts because for a long time it’s what I had to work with and worked fine, but over the years as my designs evolved, the complexity required by table layouts grew by quite a bit and lead to difficult to understand and complex templates.

Most of the work I do uses some sort of templating system, where I design the page once, and the design the content that goes into particular portions of the page. This is through ASP.NET and what I’m referring to are user controls, or modules within content management systems. So comlpexity wasn’t too much of a problem because I only deal with the layout of the page when I want to change the layout, and not elements within the page which are abstracted from that into other files.

But on occasion when I’d need to change something, I’d invariably be stuck having to decipher year old code and trying to remember just why I embedded a table 3 deep in spanned several rows and added placeholder images to keep the cells visible.

From the bit of CSS positioned development I’ve done recently, I can see this is definately going to be easier to maintain.

http://www.yourhtmlsource.com/stylesheets/csslayout.html

http://webdesign.about.com/od/advancedcss/a/aa061307.htm

http://www.elated.com/articles/css-positioning/

Responses

  1. I’ve been having a lot of the same issues at work. I originally learned HTML on the table based system, since that’s what had been used for years at my company even before I arrived. E-mails, landing pages, and even our website are grounded in old school table layout.

    Since picking up the use of divs and floats, I’ve been creating more and more content at work that uses these newer methods. But there’s still years of archived content that I have to deal with, and integrating the newer div material with some of the old table-based layouts has been a real headache at times.


Leave a Reply

Categories

